The Workshop on Wide Bandgap Power Devices and Applications in Asia (WiPDA Asia) sponsored by IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS), provides a forum for device scientists, circuit designers, and application engineers to share technology updates, research findings, development experience, and application knowledge.
Technical Papers: Technical papers addressing all aspects of wide-bandgap power electronics are welcome. Technical oral sessions will be held on May 24th-25th, 2019, and a poster session will be held as well. Selected technical papers will be recommended to be published on “IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics” (IF=5.18) through peer review process.
Tutorials: Tutorials covering both device and application topics will be offered on May 23rd, 2019.
Keynote Sessions: Keynote sessions will be held on May 24th-25th, 2019, in which leading experts from academia, industry, and research institutes will share their insights on technology developments and future trends.
Exhibitions: A number of booths will be available for exhibition.
All presented papers will be included in the conference proceedings and submitted to the databases of IEEE Xplore.


Main topic


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Heteroepitaxial and bulk materials growth
Gate dielectrics and surface passivation
Device structures and fabrication techniques
Device characterization and modeling
Very high efficiency and compact converters
SOAs including short-circuit, spike, and transient tolerance
Harsh environment (e.g. high temperature) operation and reliability
Packaging, power modules, and ICs
Hard-switched and soft-switched applications
Common-mode and EMI management
Gate drive and other auxiliary circuits
High-performance passive components
Applications in renewable energy and storage, transportation, industrial drives, and grid power



Keynote Speakers


Alan Mantooth

IEEE Fellow,
President of IEEE Power Electronics Society,
Distinguished Professor,
The Twenty-First Century Research Leadership Chair,
Department of Electrical Engineering,
University of Arkansas, USA

Hirofumi Akagi

IEEE Fellow,
Past President of IEEE Power Electronics Society,
Former IEEE Division II Director,
Professor, School of Engineering,
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Jih-Sheng (Jason) Lai

IEEE Fellow,
James S. Tucker Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Virginia Tech, USA

Frede Blaabjerg

IEEE Fellow,
President of IEEE Power Electronics Society (2019-2020),
Professor, Dept. of Energy Technology
Aalborg University, Denmark

Don Tan

IEEE Fellow,
Past President of IEEE Power Electronics Society,
Former IEEE Division II Director,
Distinguished Engineer/ Senior Staff Manager, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems(NGAS),USA

Yan-Fei Liu

Vice President, Technical Operations,
IEEE Power Electronics Society
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
Queen’s University, Canada

Z. John Shen

U.S. National Academy of Inventors
Grainger Chair Professor,
Illinois Institute of Technology